Each VPN session can last up to three (3) hours. If your session is inactive and you are not using the VPN link, time out will occur after 30 minutes. Ensure you are saving your work regularly as you may lose data if your VPN connection disconnects. You can reconnect after you time out.
Once you no longer require a VPN connection, please disconnect your session. This will free up that session for someone else to use - there are a limited number of VPN sessions available.
If you are being disconnected more frequently, contact ITS for assistance - How can I contact ITS?
For more information on what requires VPN, see How do I decide which remote connection option is best for me?